abusesaffiliationarrow-downarrow-leftarrow-rightarrow-upattack-typeburgerchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-upClock iconclosedeletedevelopment-povertydiscriminationdollardownloademailenvironmentexternal-linkfacebookfiltergenderglobegroupshealthC4067174-3DD9-4B9E-AD64-284FDAAE6338@1xinformation-outlineinformationinstagraminvestment-trade-globalisationissueslabourlanguagesShapeCombined Shapeline, chart, up, arrow, graphLinkedInlocationmap-pinminusnewsorganisationotheroverviewpluspreviewArtboard 185profilerefreshIconnewssearchsecurityPathStock downStock steadyStock uptagticktooltiptwitteruniversalityweb
Event

21 Jun 2024

Webinar: Exploring the new threat of deep sea mining, and sharing insights and experiences of mineral mining for the energy transition

See all tags

Friends of the Earth International, together with Friends of the Earth US would like to invite you to a webinar on two key interlinked themes with external experts, and a FoE group reflection.

The webinar will take place in two time zones. You only need to attend one! It is open to allies outside of Friends of the Earth so feel free to invite others.

Deep Sea Mining: Currently approximately 2 million square kilometres of Pacific Ocean Floor is under exploration leasehold for deep sea mining to national governments and private companies within both territorial and international waters for extraction of minerals from the ocean floor. We will learn more about this new threat from the Deep Sea Mining Campaign.

Transition Minerals Tracker: We need minerals for the renewables supply chain, but mining them risks replicating all the harms of current extractive mining practices. The Business & Human Rights Resource Centre will present findings from the latest update of their Transitions Minerals Tracker

FoE group experience of transition mineral mining: Hear from FoE Philippines or FoE Argentina about their experiences.
Register

  1. Webinar 1: 27 June 1am UTC/6.30 India/11am AEST for APAC, Pacific West Coast US Regions.
  2. Facilitator: Kate D’Angelis, FoE US
  3. Speakers:  Helen Rosenbaum, Deep Sea Mining Campaign; Natalia Daza Niño, Business & Human Rights Resource Centre; Maya Quirino, Friends of the Earth Philippines
  4. Click here to register!
  5. Webinar 2:  27 June 1pm UTC/3pm CEST for ATALC, Europe, Africa Regions
  6. Facilitator: Sara Shaw, FoEI
  7. Speakers: Andy Whitmore, Deep Sea Mining Campaign; Natalia Daza Niño, Business & Human Rights Resource Centre; Natalia Salvático, Friends of the Earth Argentina
  8. Click here to register! (Spanish interpretation available)

Event Details

Start date
27 Jun 2024
Start time
2 p.m.
Event type
Webinar
Location
Online
Organisation
Friends of the Earth International

For more information, please follow the link to the event

Link to Event